Trying to stay healthy in medical school

Options
Hi all, my name is David I'm relatively new to MFP :smile:

I'm a second year medical student and ironically have found that the more time I spend learning about and trying to help the health of others, the worse my own seems to be getting!! I've been up as much as 30 lbs since college, and have been trying to slowly work it off since then -- but with fluctuating success. I'm really hoping MFP will help me stay more consistent.

I was inspired recently by signing The Patient Promise (www.thepatientpromise.org), an oath health care professionals can take and promise to try to practice healthy lifestyle behaviors similar to those they would suggest to patients.

It's something I'd really like to stay true to, and I'm hoping to friend a few people to help stay consistent with. Thanks!

Replies

• pretty4Jesus
    pretty4Jesus Posts: 52 Member
    Options
    Awesome! I'm a med student too.. and completely understand that! I want to be an example to my patients and practice what I recommend for them.

God bless!
  • TheBoyEnigma
    TheBoyEnigma Posts: 39 Member
    Options
    heya.
    I'm not a med student but I am a student and am making the effort now to stay healthy whilst in university. Kinda helps anyway, considering my degree involves a lot of fieldwork and I really ought to be physically fit for it
  • Michshellars
    Options
    @jdgatz - I totally agree! I'm a new nurse and gained a bunch of weight during nursing school and always felt how you felt! I was telling my patients to eat right and exercise and I felt guilty about not practicing what I preach.
  • lesliecb
    lesliecb Posts: 4 Member
    Options