only 148lbs & pre-diabetic BUT GETTING HEALTHY!

Hi! I am also new to fitness pal. I am 5'4" and weigh 148 pounds at 41 years old, I am use to weighing in around 125 pounds but my honey began traveling more & more often (via his employment) and I found me eating out more & more with my 13 year old son & sitting more & more watching TV missing him... Suddenly about 3 weeks ago I realized that I felt fat & Sluggish, exhausted & from doing nothing but sitting & feeling fatigued. I went to our family doctor who sent me for bloodwork & he warned me that I am pre-diabetic type 2 (fasting blood glucose was 128) and that is a large part of the reason that I feel so tired. He says that studies have shown a healthy diet with exercise & weight loss can reverse diabetes type 2, so he suggested I lose a few pounds and get moving, a healthier lifestyle, exercise, eat healthy... I explained but I have no energy to get off the couch despite sleeping 8-9 hours a night, he put me on one pill a day "Adipex" (monitoring me weekly, blood pressure, etc...) and said it is NOT A MAGIC PILL rather a support to get me motivated to move & supress my appetite. I have since lost 2 pounds in a little over a week. I'm trying to eat more veggies & healthier meat choices (grilled skinless chicken, turkey, fish) and leave little debbie & burger king alone! I'm excited but have no idea about all the carb counting, "Atkins" or what's good & bad as their are so many opinions, I know I'm cutting out what I KNOW to be trash like potato chips, soda, fastfood, ice cream, etc... I am cutting my portions down & that is the MOST DIFFICULT PART for me, as I LOVE that STUFFED LIKE A PIG FEEL, I am happy eating TONS of food (even if it's healthy) as long as I get BIG PORTIONS, that is my challenge! I have always loved the stuffed, un-button your pants feel from LOTS of food, so I'm making a effort to push away when I know I am full, NOT stuffed! I'm excited & determined, I weigh more now than I did when I was 9