Eating too much Protein

Options
Hi, I am new to MFP and I am noticing that I am always over in protein and under in carbs and fats, even when my cals are on or even under. Obvious - I am wondering if this is one of my difficulties with healthy weight? However I am wondering if I need more protein that the programs allows? Thanks...

Replies

• heyyoudontgiveup
    heyyoudontgiveup Posts: 64 Member
    Options
    To my knowledge it's not really possible to go over in protein. Maybe change your macro splits -- the ones that MFP use aren't always the best. Eating more protein will not cause you to be overweight. Carbs and especially sugar are what do it. This is just what I've read.
  • cominupmilhouse
    cominupmilhouse Posts: 257 Member
    Options
    I try really hard to go way over on protein everyday. I shoot for 1g of protein per lb of lean body mass.

MFPs protein recommendation is ridiculously low!
  • leenie96
    Options
    NO. As stated above, MFP doesn't recommend as much as you should be eating. Protein is definitely your friend :)
  • goody2shews
    goody2shews Posts: 129 Member
    Options
    Carbs, Sodium and sugar are great to have deficits. Protein in my opinion is a free for all. My only issue is making sure I have the fiber as well depending on you personally over time you may see you need some extra if you are not getting alot of carbs.
  • Katbody10
    Katbody10 Posts: 369 Member
    Options
    Going over in protein and fiber is AWESOME .. while staying under your calorie goal! That's what everyone should be doing .. keeps you feeling fuller longer and can only be of benefit to you :flowerforyou:
  • CarmenSandiegoInVA
    CarmenSandiegoInVA Posts: 235 Member
    Options