i pigged out last night and gained 1 1/2 lbs??

Options
gypsy102
gypsy102 Posts: 14 Member
OK, so I ate a whole bag of popcorn and had ice cream last night (around 11pm). I've been so good for months, I figured, what the heck? So I weighed myself this morning (my first mistake) and I gained 1 1/2 lbs!!!

Is this only from eating so bad last night? I exercised yesterday and have been good otherwise.

Am I being too obsessive - I weigh myself just about every day.

Replies

• laurenk182004
    laurenk182004 Posts: 1,882 Member
    Options
    It's probably retained water from all the salt that's in bagged popcorn. Drink lots of water and you'll flush that out in no time!
  • Wolfena
    Wolfena Posts: 1,570 Member
    Options
    popcorn = very salty

You're holding onto water weight from the sodium.... drink lots today, it'll come off very quickly.
  • gypsy102
    Options
    thank you so much!! I am new to this, didn't even think of all the salt in the popcorn! I'll be waterlogged by the end of the day.... :tongue:
  • AlannaPie
    AlannaPie Posts: 349 Member
    Options
    I doubt you pooped it all out yet. I mean, if you drink a gallon of water you would be 10 pounds heavier - it doesn't mean you gained 10 pounds
  • utes09
    utes09 Posts: 561 Member
    Options
    Also it's best to weigh yourself after fasting...sleep is the natural way to fast for 8-12 hours. But if you're eating at 11 pm and weighing at 8 am you still may have some of the digestion gases flowing which can add 1-2lbs.
  • angela75022
    angela75022 Posts: 100 Member
    Options
    Popcorn= salt= water gain

DO NOT weigh yourself everyday!!! It will drive you insane.

Weigh yourself only once a week (that's hard to do I know), I weigh myself on Monday mornings and put the scale away until next week. Your body fluxuates everyday, you may be up a pound today, down 2 lbs tomorrow and up 2 lbs the next day... it will drive you insane!!