Body Pump class at LAFitness

Options
Just wondering if anyone has ever taken this class? I'd like to know what sort of intensity is involved and how much free-weight experience is required. I'm still fairly new to free weights, and would like to learn correct form etc, but wonder if this class would be an appropriate level/venue to do so?

Any experiences with this?

Replies

• farsteve
    farsteve Posts: 157 Member
    Options
    It's usually a fun class and the emphasis is more on number of reps as opposed to heavy weights. You'll do a short warm up and then you will work just about every muscle group. I would say intensity is low moderate to moderate (if you consider a kick boxing class as high intensity). The instructor will show you correct form and since you are not lifting major weights you get a chance to practice form with light weights.

In general, it's a good workout, you will learn good form, it's fun so give it a try.
  • ellycope
    ellycope Posts: 80 Member
    Options
    I did my first Body Pump class the other week (not at an LAFitness but I'm guessing they're all pretty much the same! Speak to the instructor beforehand and they'll give you some tips on form. I'm guessing you know about form for squats and lunges already? One thing I did do was go to the Les Mills website where they have videos of the moves they use and how to do them which I found helpful in finding out what to expect.

You can decide on the amount of weight you have on your bar for the different sections and the instructor should give you an idea of what sort of amount you should be using.

Basically, I'd say go along, make sure you chat to the instructor beforehand, have a go and then decide what you think of it. It should be accessible to most levels.

Enjoy!
  • ElliieMental
    Options
    You need no experience, your instructor should give you the basics when they realise that you're new.