HR zones for endurance training

Options
jacksonpt
jacksonpt Posts: 10,413 Member
I know HR zones don't matter for weight loss. But is there any merit to them for endurance training?

I've been doing triathlons for a few years now, but have never really "trained" for them. I practice my swim stroke/breathing enough so I don't drown, I ride because I enjoy it, and I run because I can't always ride. That's always been enough for me to be reasonably happy with my performance/time.

During a run today I got thinking about training in HR zones and whether or not it's effective for increase endurance/mileage. Personally I think putting in more miles increases mileage (just like going faster increases speed), but I don't have any real evidence to support it, just personal experience.

Thoughts?

Replies

• Azdak
    Azdak Posts: 8,281 Member
    Options
    I like to keep it simple: easy, medium, hard. There is definitely a place for the ol' long, slow, distance endurance training when it comes to preparing for endurance events. This follows the fundamental principle of training specificity. Ideally, the proportions of training should match the metabolic demands of the event.

Lyle McDonald explains it all in great detail:

http://www.bodyrecomposition.com/training/methods-of-endurance-training-part-1.html

He goes on for 6 or so articles and discusses the different general classes of intensity.

In general, endurance training builds your "aerobic engine". Tempo and interval training allow you to apply that engine and fine-tune it for peak performance.

I find that the two have a synergistic effect. By that I find that HIIT, or HISS not only improve performance, but allow me to train at a higher "endurance" intensity. Along with that, I find that my endurance training allows me to recover more quickly after work intervals and when I "reach back for something extra" during a HISS or performance workout, I find the energy to maintain my pace to the end.

So, yes, they help.