Weight Gain Due to Medication

Options
Hello everyone!

My name is Tiffany and I am 24-years-old. I've been using MyFitnessPal off and on for a couple years now (I think it's been that long). Anyway, it's time to get serious. I am at my heaviest right now. For now, I only want to lose 10lbs. Baby steps, you know? Plus, it might take a while to lose just 10lbs because I am on a few medications for bipolar disorder. If you know anything about those drugs, you know they cause weight gain. Not only that, but I eat crap. I am not in a position where I can cook at home. I guess my goal is to either eat less and/or pick healthier, leaner options when eating out.

Feel free to add me as a friend. It feels good to have a support system. :)

Replies

• Calliope610
    Calliope610 Posts: 3,775 Member
    Options
    I have been gaining weight since about 2000, when I was prescribed Depakote for my BP. Since then, I went from about 145 to my top weight of 232. Or that is what I have been telling myself, that it is the medication responsible for my weight gain and not my eating habits. I have recently weaned off the med with my doctor's supervision. So now is the time to see if the medication was truly the culprit, or if I just made it the scapegoat.

Good luck. And add me as a friend.
  • shamr0cker
    Options
    Hah. I know what you mean. Sometimes I wonder if I use it as a scapegoat as well.

Good luck to you as well! :)
  • carolynbergen1
    Options
    I know the feeling. I gained 40 lbs in 6 weeks from Lyrica. It's a med for Fibromyalgia. I need it to move though. Without it I would stay in bed all day. I DO blame the Lyrica for the weight gain, so does my doc. I don't think it is possible to gain that much weight in 6 weeks especially since I was pretty stable weight wise at 118 for years and then poof! Best of luck to you all! Wish me luck too. I want to lose 50lbs. I need to lose 50 lbs.
  • funnygirlt
    funnygirlt Posts: 23 Member
    Options