New to lifting...free weights vs. machines?

Options
Hey guys,

My boyfriend and I just started lifting together this week. I am totally new to it and am trying to get down a routine to make sure I get as good a workout as possible, and don't forget any muscles!

This week all I've done is barbell bench press (with adorable 5 lb weights), barbell squats (with silghtly less adorable 10 lb weights), and standing shoulder presses (with a 30 pound bar, which I am upping next time - not enough burn!).

I really prefer to use the machines (our gym has a ladies room with machines, the free weights are upstairs with the big guys) for things like bicep and tricep curls and leg exercises. My boyfriend claims machine weights are not as good as they only target one muscle or small muscle group at a time, whereas things like squats and deadlifts do much, much more for you. Well, I like the squats just fine, but I can't do a deadlift. Our gym requires the use of bumper plates when deadlifting, and with them, the bar is too heavy for me. (Don't laugh :[ )

So I guess what I'm really trying to ask is, on top of what I'm already doing with free weights, which should I be doing to get all my muscles worked? How should I alternate them? And are the machine weights really just a waste of time, or should I do those, too, or instead of free weights? I'd love to get a personal trainer but that is not happening financially. :/

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• TAsunder
    TAsunder Posts: 423 Member
    Options
    Does your gym have smaller kettlebells? You could start deadlifting those. They come in a wide range of sizes and don't require a bar. Make sure you know the proper form for any weight exercises, though. Especially deadlifting and the like. Otherwise you could injure your back or other parts.
  • fancycupcake
    fancycupcake Posts: 78 Member
    Options