Improving fitness levels

Options
I know this may sound weird, but I have been sedentary pretty much all my life, and recently embarked on a workout program and my fitness levels are complete rubbish.

How long does it take/has taken you to see an improvement in your fitness levels and to lose weight?

Replies

• Mokey41
    Mokey41 Posts: 5,769 Member
    Options
    It depends how much you do, how often you do it and how dedicated you are.
  • Moonlight17
    Moonlight17 Posts: 173 Member
    Options
    So say you start working out regularly and daily every day, will it improve your fitness a lot? Or have I got no hope at all? Sorry I'm new to all this :(
  • pamwhite712
    pamwhite712 Posts: 193 Member
    Options
    So say you start working out regularly and daily every day, will it improve your fitness a lot? Or have I got no hope at all? Sorry I'm new to all this :(

Take me for example. I was VERY sedentary a month and a half ago. I have a treadmill. At first it was a struggle for me to walk 2.5 mph for even 30 minutes. Now I'm up to 3.0 mph for 60 minutes a day, and I'm going to have to increase my speed because it's getting a lot easier for me.

So if you keep at it every day, even if it's hard at first, you will get more fit. You'll have more energy and just feel better in general.
  • GoddessG
    GoddessG Posts: 175 Member
    Options
    I have a Bowflex (bought it used). BEcause I am obese and lazy, (and because it hurt my back too much to walk - even to the mailbox), I use it for rowing (mostly leg work done from a sitting position) and strengthening core muscles plus shoulders. Occasional work on arm muscles.

How long did it take to feel results from exercise? Well, the low-impact cardio that I began my diet with did nothing for me.