At a plateau...looking for any advice or help please!!

Options
This is my first time using mfp, but not a first for weight loss. Every time I go to lose weight I always get stuck at the same plateau, same number on the scale. I lost 20 lbs before trying mfp in Jan. Since then I have only lost 4 lbs. The dreaded number for me is 180. I currently am 181 lbs with a goal weight of 150-160. I am 5'7, and am a new stay at home mom of 2, so I have my activity level as sedentary. Mfp has my calorie goal at 1,240. I also workout for about an hour 6 days a week, burning at least 500 calories each time. I have tried changing up my exercises to include cardio, running, pilates, and weights. At this time I do not eat my exercise calories. I usually leave about 400 or so calories at the end of the day. It always tells me I may be in starvation mode. I have my goal down to lose 1.5 lbs a week. So, do I need to eat those exercise calories burned? And should I change my goal to only losing 1 lb a week? Is there something else I need to maybe change, or do differently? I am very hard on myself, and have a low self esteem about my body image. But I refuse to give up and just stick to where I am at. Any advice or help would be greatly appreciated!

Replies

• fitchick1971
    Options
    It doesn't hurt to try. There are alot of opinions on how to tackle a plateau but i found everytime i hit one... if i waited it out a few weeks things would start heading down again. Best thing i did was to start weighing myself monthly... since then i haven't noticed any mor plateaus!
  • CristinaL1983
    CristinaL1983 Posts: 1,119 Member
    Options