Just getting started

Options
Hi,
I'm just getting started on this weight-loss and healthier me journey. I had been somewhat overweight all of my life, and in college, my "freshman fifteen" turned into "freshman fifty." I love food and I hate exercise. Over the years my weight has kept going up.

I had tried half-heartedly in the past to lose weight and just become healthier, but it never lasted. Diabetes runs in both sides of my family, and I always assumed that I would someday be diabetic.

On my last doctor's visit, my doctor told me that I was pre-diabetic. It affected me more than I thought it would, since I had always assumed that it was inevitable that I would be diabetic. I decided I didn't want to be. My doctor referred me to a nutritionist.

I have a good friend who is a fitness fanatic, but she has never pushed me, realizing that our interests were just different. However, she told me about the My Fitness Pal app that I could put on my phone, just to become more conscientious about what I was eating. Boy has that worked! Since then I have downloaded the app onto my iPad and have logged in on my computer at home as well. By just following that, I lost four pounds in my first full week.

Anyway, that's it in a nutshell. I don't want to become diabetic and I do want to become healthier. I have started taking a yoga class (I thought that might be a little less intense than aerobics or Crossfit, since I'm just a beginner).

My biggest problem is that I love the foods that I need to cut down on - chocolate, pasta, potatoes, microwavable meals, etc. My nutritionist/dietician has given me some good suggestions, and I plan on following them as best I can. However, I know myself well enough to know that I can't make a 180-degree turnaround; I won't keep it up. So I'm doing the small steps, one at a time. I have become somewhat obsessed with logging in my food, though, and that seems to help.