Need advice? :/

Options
So, story (in short): I joined a gym last April and got on board for the whole healthy/fitness thing, but I gave up after 5 months because I saw NO progress. No scale victories, inches, nothing. You can't tell me that I should've "pushed through it" because how would YOU feel without any progress after that period of time? Anyway, so, I had surgery later in the year, and have yet to go back to the gym, though I've been allowed to go back for a good 4 months now.

The problem is that I'm horribly worried that I'll do it again and I won't see any progress again. I want to try calorie counting, but I get so stressed and worried about the whole thing that I don't start. I'm a freshman in university and all this added stress is getting to me. I just want everything to be sorted out. I want to be a better, healthier version of myself and I'm afraid I'll never get there.

I need any advice. :/

Replies

• CristinaL1983
    CristinaL1983 Posts: 1,119 Member
    Options
    My university has a wellness center that offers all kinds of services from full body DXA scans (to check bone density and body fat percentage and muscle mass) to nutritionists who work with students for cheap and everything in between.

Check and see if your university has one. It could make your life a lot easier.

Why not just start counting calories without setting goals or anything just to get in the habit of it and see where you are with what you are consuming. The MFP phone app is awesome (barcode scanner to add foods into your diary).