Menopausal and getting the scale to budge!

Options
Which it won't. If there were a gradual steady decline I wouldn't have a problem with it. If I wasn't 'hormonally challenged' the typical advice and methods of weight loss would work. At least it did in the past.

Here's my big beef:

1) I have been working out, lifting and counting calories for upward of 6 months. Know what I have to show for it? MAYBE 5 lbs. Yes, things are considerably less jiggly but I seriously doubt that I've exchanged fat for muscle pound for pound. (My legs are rock hard covered by a layer of 'insulation' - but they are hard.)

2) I have been watching my calories, trying and succeeding MOST of the time in keeping them at about 1200. Now, NROLFW and 'Road Map' advice tell me to up my calories if I want to actually start losing. I really don't believe it but WTH, I'll try anything. But I swear that if I gain back more than a 3-4 lbs... I'm going to assume that it ain't working.

3) Typical recommended calories, TDEE, etc. all assume a non-menopausal person. There should be a modifier for that.

So, I would love to hear from fellow MFP members that have faced the same challenge with similar issues.

Replies

• KenosFeoh
    KenosFeoh Posts: 1,837 Member
    Options
    Post-menopause and struggling, losing and regaining the same 3 pounds for 2 months now, first on 1200 calories, now on 1320.

I went through a number of calculators yesterday. The average for me was about 1800 TDEE, with advice that I need to create a 500-calorie deficit to lose one pound per week, so either cut my calories back by 500 per day (so 1320 is about right), increase my exercise to burn 500 calories per day, or do a combination. Obviously occasional exercise and diet alone isn't doing it, so I'm going to keep my calories where they are and increase exercise to daily but only eat back enough calories to keep my net from falling below 1200. That's the plan, anyway.

Good luck! This is all so frustrating!
  • Sabresgal63