Success on Ideal protein and merging to MFP!

Options
Hi all! I am new to MFP and transitioning from the Ideal Protein diet to a low carb/low fat/low calorie diet ON MY OWN! I have had success on IP with a starting weight of 212 lbs and I am now at 179! My ultimate goal is 145. I am tired of spending the $100sh a week on food and have been spending LOTS of time in the gym and running about 3 miles every other day with strength training. I know I can do this myself and appreciate the "instant gratification" that the Ideal Protein diet gives and would highly recommend it to anyone. I just want to be a good role model to my two young daughters, 8 years and 18 months, and want to show them that living a healthy lifestyle is important for your overall well being not just to loose weight! Looking for "friends" on here that are runners, strength training, and eating low carb and high protein diets. Good luck to all in your fitness journeys!

Replies

• cwhite6109
    Options
    Hi new friend! I was as 203 when I started IP. Had success and went down to 177 lbs. Unfortunately I went off the program because of the expense and tried it on my own. I don't want to discourage you - YOU CAN DO IT. I let my job and extra stress take over and I'm very much an emotional eater. I gained back 19 lbs before smartening up.

So now Im back on IP (30 days) and have lost 9 lbs as of today. I love to run, walk and use the elliptical machine at work. I'll be sticking to IP for another 37 lbs.

MFP is a great tool - enjoy.
  • BIKERBROD
    Options
    What is IP??
  • cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 34,123 Member
    Options
    If you already know the foods, that's half the battle.

Now go to the store and buy them, prepare your entire week's meals on Sunday, and be done. IP sounds like it was more about convenience. There are no magic foods, just amounts.
  • Insanity2bSane
    Insanity2bSane Posts: 204 Member
    Options