need help with numbers

jsjp
jsjp Posts: 51 Member
Mfp said i should be at 1200 calories a day. I am 38,female, and burn about 250 calories a day on treadmill and do some light weight training. I am 5'5" and weigh about 154. I have lost 5 pounds so far. My question is it seems like 1200 is low but i do add the 250 from exercise to make it 1450, right? Most days i am under by about 100 calories but somedays over. Am i doing harm by being under by 100 or is that close enough to my daily caloric needs? I am new to this so i am just trying to get a better understanding-

Replies

• ILiftHeavyAcrylics
    ILiftHeavyAcrylics Posts: 27,732 Member
    Have you calculated your BMR and TDEE? Try this link:

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/819055-setting-your-calorie-and-macro-targets

ETA: Yes you should eat back your exercise calories, but also make sure that 1200 is an appropriate goal for you. It's too low for many people.
  • jsjp
    jsjp Posts: 51 Member
    I will do the link you offered:-)
  • catinohio
    catinohio Posts: 82 Member
    I'm not sure how totally accurate it is, but I find the "complete day's entry" feature to be very helpful -- it states something like, "If you eat like this every day for 5 weeks, you would weigh _____ lbs."
    (My daily calorie goal is 1350 before adding exercise calories)
    It encourages me when I have 'good' days, reassures me on those days when I go a little over, and gives me a major 'wake-up' on days I'm too much over (usually a result of dining out).
  • gbss2
    gbss2 Posts: 1