What's the best workout DVD for beginners?

Options
2»

Replies

• angiecullifer
    angiecullifer Posts: 13 Member
    Options
    I'm very new to using workout DVDs and have started using The Biggest Loser Power Ab Blast. They show modified versions of the moves that makes it very easy for you to follow along. There are 4 different different workouts to chose from: Standing Abs (10 min), Cardio Abs (15 min), All Out Abs (10 min) and Yoga Abs (10 min). I bought it at Wal-Mart for $10.
  • chellebublz
    chellebublz Posts: 568 Member
    Options
    Prevention Magazine has some decent full body workouts that are low impact and easy to follow. Look for anything by Chris Freytag. Denise Austin does many low impact beginner workouts as well.

Also, not to sound obnoxious, but why would anyone need a DVD to walk? Just go outside and put one foot in front of the other for a while, then turn around and walk back home. And swing your arms. We learned how to do that as children, so I don't get the popularity of "walking DVDs." Again, not trying to offend anyone, I simply don't understand.

I started with these, because I live in Wisconsin and have a 13 month old, so going outside and walking in the snow and ice with a baby isn't the best idea. I dont find them a good workout anymore now that I've lost a few pounds and gotten stronger. I'm almost finished with 30 Day Shred and Leslie's videos are just way too easy and not very much of a burn for me now.

I deft suggest doing 30 Day Shred, and like someone else said if you have to modify at first that's ok. When I started I couldn't do jumping jacks at all (osgood makes jumping hard at times), so I modified and did step-touch instead of jumps, even though Jillian said no modifying them. But day 7 I could do all the jumping. YOu get stronger doing this video and you get stronger FAST. I am no Jillian fan, but you can't deny the results this one brings. (I lost 7 pounds and 16 inches, and I still have 5 days to go)