training for 5k on treadmill

Options
Hi guys I have a hectic work week as i'm a chef, i manage the gym 4 days a week but only just. I have started training for a 5k for june but don't have time to go to the gym and run outside as my work days are long and i don't get home till midnight because of buses so I have decided to run in the gym instead to build up my stamina. I'm following the c25k which is working well, i'm on my 3rd week now but will probably have to repeat it! Now I know that running in the gym is a lot different to running outside i set the treadmill on an incline of 3. i've worked out that by the time I finish I should have just under 2 months to finish my training and will hopefully have time to run outside at this point as we should have more staff!
Am I doing this right, is there anything else I can do on the treadmill or in the gym to help me train properly so it won't be so difficult when I get outside?

cheers Harriet

Replies

• Saree1902
    Saree1902 Posts: 611 Member
    Options
    Hey,

I've had to do some dreadmill training myself as the ice has put paid to a lot of outdoor running - I have the grace and coordination of bambi crossed with a hippo!

You could try varying the incline on the treadmill to account for variations in terrain. I often do hill intervals, where I'll do steps of 2-3 mins each at 1%, 1.5% and so on up to 5%, then back down again. Plus it can break up the monotony of running on the spot for what can often seem like an eternity.

And it never hurts to do a bit of strength training in between, in particular working on your glutes and core - so squats and planks!
  • harrietlg
    harrietlg Posts: 239
    Options
    Thank you! I'm already doing a bob strength training DVD, it's hard core!
  • majope
    majope Posts: 1,325 Member
    Options