Why am I not losing? TDEE? Enough calories/exercise?

Hi guys, I have been doing MFP for over two months now and after an initial, speedy 5lb loss, I have totally plateaued and have in fact put on 1lb back on.

I am 5"9, 162lb and have set MFP to 1lb per week loss which gives me 1370 cals.

Despite sticking to that, running at least half an hour 3 times per week and weight training, the scales haven't budged for weeks and weeks.

My arms look great, stomach feels flatter and shape is generally better. I have lost an inch on bust, waist and hips, but again, that's plateaued.

I know there will be people who say the scale doesn't matter, and to a point that's true, up until last week i thought the same, but now it's getting frustrating and i dont want to fall off the wagon!

I am tall, and I'm wondering if this is normal if you have less to lose? Also wondering if I'm eating enough? I've seen talk of this TDEE and by my vague understanding I think I would be under, esp with all the workouts.

The other thing is, could my body now be used to the run I'm doing and should I up it?

Any ideas appreciated!!!

Thanks guys

Replies

• Mokey41
    Mokey41 Posts: 5,769 Member
    I'm assuming that from your name you are a man and at 5'9" and 162 lbs I'm thinking you may be near the weight you should be. Comparing my 6' tall daughter at 165 is just about perfect I can't imagine a shorter man weighing less.

Maybe what you need to focus on more is building muscle and firming up your body rather than just losing pounds.
  • palmerar
    palmerar Posts: 489 Member
    Since you may not have a whole lot to lose try adjusting your goals to .5 lbs a week, also if you are interested in learning more about TDEE use the search function to find the "in place of a road map posting", that sort of breaks it down for you. Do some outside research as well, some people on here can be biased towards one method vs another. Best of luck!