How to meet 1200 calories?

Options
Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new at this, so would really appreciate the advice of you seasoned professionals :)

The app says I should be aiming for 1200 calories a day. This morning, I burned approximately 360 calories at the gym.

For breakfast: homemade smoothie, with Greek nonfat yogurt, 1/2 banana, apple juice and frozen strawberries (203 cals)
For lunch: chicken, sliced carrot, lettuce, lite Italian dressing, 1/2 banana (404 cals)
Plans for dinner: quinoa, grilled salmon fillet, steamed broccoli, raw spinach (280 cals)

This puts me at 888 calories for the day, and having done my workout, the app is telling me I have 695 calories remaining.

The trouble is, I'm not sure how to go about doing this. I suppose I could add a hard-boiled egg, maybe another yogurt, but I'm just surprised that I've got what I thought seemed like a reasonable meal plan - the kind of stuff I'm used to seeing recommended, and yet it puts me unhealthily low for calorie intake.

I certainly don't want to go into starvation mode, but how do I reasonably and healthily add the necessary calories? Is there something important I'm missing from my meals? Should I be snacking more?

Thanks so much!

Replies

• mariapuhl
    mariapuhl Posts: 529 Member
    Options
    Add some healthy high calorie fats as snacks. An avocado, nuts, some peanut butter, etc. Add more things to your lunch salad, like a dried fruit or crouton or cheese.
  • Mokey41
    Mokey41 Posts: 5,769 Member
    Options
    Eat the whole banana, put butter on your broccoli, add something to your quinoa, have a mid morning and mid afternoon snack of some almonds or cheese, add an egg at breakfast, forget non fat yogurt and go for the full fat version, use regular salad dressing instead of lite, lots of ways to add calories.
  • southernmom3
    southernmom3 Posts: 181 Member
    Options