Confused on Daily Totals

Options
rjsaks
rjsaks Posts: 2,031 Member
I must be doing something wrong or I'm just confused.

So far today, I've eaten the following:

Breakfast
2 hard-boiled eggs
8 oz. skim milk
Lunch
2 cups iceberg lettuce
2 Tbsp. fat-free western dressing
4 oz. chicken breast
Snack
1 medium apple

The daily totals tell me that I'm -6 for sugar already. Can someone please give me suggestions on how to keep within my daily sugar levels?

I'm well within my calorie goals for the day, but it seems my protein, sodium and sugar are in the "red."

Since this is only my second day keeping track, I am just a bit confused.

I am assuming it just a guideline, and that keeping within calories is more important. But, I'm no expert.

Replies

• MissTattoo
    MissTattoo Posts: 1,203 Member
    Options
    Do you have it manually adjusted or MFP recommended?
    The dressing is probably your biggest offender.
  • rjsaks
    Options
    MFP recommended.
  • KatieJane83
    KatieJane83 Posts: 2,002 Member
    Options
    I wouldn't worry too much about the sugar, especially if it's naturally occurring sugars, like in the apple. Also, check the label on milk, you'd be surprised how much sugar is in there, and I believe it's even more when it's skim.

Next, the majority of the people on here (myself included) feel mfp's protein setting is too low. I believe the standard recommendation is around .8-1g of protein per pound of lbm (lean body mass)

I will not speak to sodium, I am ALWAYS over, I'm a salt monster!

Most important things to worry about are hitting your calorie and macro (fat, protein, carbs) goals
  • diannethegeek
    diannethegeek Posts: 14,776 Member
    Options
    MFP's protein recommendations are really low. For that, at least, it should be considered a minimum rather than a maximum, imo.
  • MissTattoo
    MissTattoo Posts: 1,203 Member
    Options
    Actually, MFP just has it set really low. I get 2200 calories a day but 45 grams of sugar.