c25k app....

Options
Hi,
I have downloaded the c25k app....has anyone else done this program who has a lot of weight to still lose? I still have 69lb's to go.... I would appreciate any tips/help. I am a complete novice and have never done any running in fact i shy away from exercise so i'm ultra unfit.... am i taking on too much ???

Replies

• shelleycolton
    shelleycolton Posts: 400 Member
    Options
    Hi, i got to week 6 Day 1 when i did it last and couldnt seem to get past that. I'm going to try it again because i'm going to run a 5k in July 13. I'm not very fit and have a lot of weight to lose.
  • Kashton2011
    Kashton2011 Posts: 324 Member
    Options
    I'm doing this at the moment. I'm over 200lbs and was a bit like you and never thought I'd be a runner (well I'm still not - more of a jogger really!) but this app has been really helpful. I use it while in the gym on the treadmill; as I never ran beforehand I started off doing each week at least twice so that I felt more comfortable with the running increments. I hope to start week 3 next week which I understand is running for 3 minutes - eeeek! It started off with 60 seconds of running then increases to 90 seconds which I can do quite well now. Lets see how the 3 minutes go!

I don't think you are taking on too much. Just do what you can - if you can't do all of the running sections then just walk - maybe increase the speed or the incline during these periods.

Good luck :happy:
  • GreenStars
    GreenStars Posts: 16 Member
    Options
    I'm about to start Week 6 of this program. I love it! It's really challenging for a former non-runner, but I feel so accomplished when I finish a run! I have a lot of weight to lose too.

I've made a deal with myself that if I ever start one of the workouts and I can't get through all the runs or I can't finish it, I don't progress to the next workout. I only run outside, but have been told that a treadmill is much easier.

Good luck! You can do it!