painfull workout

Options
Hi I am just starting out. I plan on doing a workout but I dread it already because my hips and knees hurt when I am done. Is there anyway to deal with the pain? Most say they feel good after a workout. I plan on doing the basics like jumping jacks,sit ups, crunches, stuff like that and the pain makes me want to quit working out. What can I do?

Replies

• LisaMfit4life
    LisaMfit4life Posts: 567 Member
    Options
    Hi! In response to your question. If you are having problems with your knees and hips hurting once you are finished that is not a good sign. Do you normally have pain in those areas. If exercising exacerbates the pain I would recommend possibly trying a yoga workout or low impact fitness program to start off slow, and then build up to something that's a little more higher impact. Do you do stretching at all to try and increase your flexibility? There are quite a few programs out there that would probably be ideal to start off with if you haven't exercised in a while. I will send you a friend request and we can talk about it more. I would be more than willing to try and help you find something that suits your fitness level. Take care.
    LisaMfit4life
  • sarled26
    sarled26 Posts: 7
    Options
    Hi! Thank you for answering me. Yes I do have pain mostly in my left hip. Its not that bad unless I use it a lot. I had a job where
    there was twisting and lifting for 5 years which caused wear and tear. Sometimes when I step or turn a certain way I get a very sharp pain. The pain in my knees only happen when I workout and hoping will get better as I lose weight. I would love to try yoga but I know thing about it. I would love any information you can give me.

Ty, Sarah
  • belgerian
    belgerian Posts: 1,059 Member
    Options
    Im sure there are plenty of beginner Yoga DVDs you could get very cheap or check them out at your local library . If you have Video on Demand maybe even some there.
  • DojoMaster888