What do YOU have on your porridge/oatmeal?

Options
jessmaus
jessmaus Posts: 28 Member
I just finished my breakfast, for which I had (as usual) porridge. I LOVE the stuff. Today I tried something new, having grated apple, cinnamon and honey. Normally I stick to just a teaspoon of 29p jam because I'm a student and I'm poor, but today's version was almost as cheap and so tasty!
Anyone got any recommendations for delicious porridge/oatmeal? (Porridge and oatmeal are the same thing, right? Oatmeal is just the American name?)

Replies

• pennydreadful270
    pennydreadful270 Posts: 266 Member
    Options
    I'm scottish, so I consider the only true way to eat porridge is with cold milk and salt. ;)
  • rosebarnalice
    rosebarnalice Posts: 3,488 Member
    Options
    oatmeal w/ flax, 100g blueberries, 2 tbsp fat free vanilla yogurt. Yum!
  • ingies2011
    ingies2011 Posts: 127 Member
    Options
    I don't particularly like porridge, but i make a bircher style muesli with my oats, I also add some pumpkin, chia, linseed and sunflower seeds soaked overnight in natural yoghurt, and i also add vanilla protein powder and berries, yum
  • kingofcrunk
    kingofcrunk Posts: 372 Member
    Options
    I'm going out for a big meal tonight so I'm restricting my calories a bit today. I substituted my milk in my porridge for water and to give it enough sweetness I added blackberries and blueberries. I cooked the porridge a bit in the microwave then added the fruit and cooked that all in the microwave. The fruit sort of broke down and the porridge was delicious! Definitely doing this more often!
  • misskate1987
    Options
    With honey! Or a combination of raw sugar and cinnamon.
  • kbeech06
    kbeech06 Posts: 328 Member
    Options
    I LOVE my oats! I usually make it with half water/half skim milk, and a tablespoon of REAL maple syrup. My cat seems to like it too as he is constantly trying to stick his head in the bowl to eat it before I'm done!
  • Green_eyed_beauty