admitting my weight

Options
Hello, I'm a newbie to MyFitnessPal but not at all new to the wonderful world of weight loss.

I've been trying and failing for 12 years to lose weight. I've done every diet and weight loss trick out there short of diet pills or surgery, and have only ever managed to lose 20ish lbs before putting it all and more back on.

At the beginning of this year I started again, and something seems to be sticking this time, yesterday I hit 50lbs. I'm really quite flabbergasted that I have lost 50lbs, and a little bit proud of myself too.

I'm not sure what's different this time, maybe I'm in a better emotional place right now, maybe my body knows it's now or never, do or die, maybe it's seeing big scary numbers on the scale, maybe it's watching people fight so hard to stay alive only to lose the cancer battle and knowing that I'm killing myself with food and laziness. But whatever it is, right now it's working and I am trying hard to stay on track and stay motivated.

I'm not following any particular plan right now, just trying to make better choices. And I'm taking it very slowly, I have a long way to go and I won't get there overnight but I'm done with trying to get quick results, I've tried that and failed.I have over two hundred lbs to lose, there is no quick fix for that.

Before one bad choice would throw me off track, now If I have a bad day it's not the end of the world, I'm trying to not ban all the yummy bad stuff but to eat it in moderation. Not my strong point but I'm working on it.

So this is me, introducing myself and for the first time ever, publicly admitting my weight.

At my highest, I weighed 350lbs. Yesterday I hit 300, at my next weigh in I will hopefully be out of the three hundreds and it will be so damn good to see a two at the beginning of my number.

I'm feeling positive, I'm trying hard, I'm doing good. I just hope I can keep it up.

(deep breath and hit post before chickening out!)

Replies

• ace52197