Rest days on 30 day shred?

Options
I am on Day 6 of 30 day shred. I am exhausted. Is it ok to take a rest day or will that totally defeat the purpose?
thanks!

Replies

• ChrisLindsay9
    ChrisLindsay9 Posts: 837 Member
    Options
    I have no experience with 30 Day Shred, so I'm bumping this for you.

Personally, I think a rest day is essential for an active fitness level. Over time, small little sprains, pulls, micro-tears, etc. can add up to a more substantial injury. Also exhaustion can make someone a bit unfocused (and uncoordinated) which can lead to injury.

Maybe someone who's done this will tell you to stick with it. But, I don't see how a day of rest per week will prevent you from reaching your fitness goals.
  • belle19822000
    belle19822000 Posts: 62 Member
    Options
    You should listen to your body.

You don't have to do it EVERY day! Hey!!!! You could take a day or 2 rest now, because you're tired, but try working out one day with 1 day rest, or 2 days followed with 1 rest day. And I mean rest! no cardio, no nothing until you feel comfortable to do some stuff on a rest day.

I exercise every other day ( no more t.z.) or short programs like 30 ds, ripped in 30 or 6Weeks6pack (around 30 mins) 2 days in a row, and then 1 rest day.

Last week I felt comfortable to WALK my butt off (like for 3 hours fasssssssssssst pace) on my "rest day" and even on my exercise day, and I got to that point in less than 2 months.

It's ok to push yourself, but you are probably too tired now to even want to get back to your routine, right?

So take 1-2 days off, and do it again, then rest, etc....

Give your body time to recover.

Best wishes with 30 DS!
  • iluvco3
    iluvco3 Posts: 98 Member
    Options
    According to Jillian, the schedule she recommends for the 30 DS is 2 days Shred, 1 day cardio, 2 days Shred, 1 day cardio, 1 day of rest. She says the "30" in the name is just a marketing tool.