What would you say? Sedentary or lightly active?

Although I've lost 40 pounds, I'm going to take a little "diet break" and eat at TDEE soon for a few weeks. However, I STILL cannot decide if I'm lightly active or sedentary!

Here's my stats:

I work out on average 5 days per week, 35-60 mins each time. Bodyweight strength training for most days, with warmup cardio for 15 mins. Occasional cardio only day.

I am a student, therefore sit most of the day. I calculated my calories on Scoobysworkshop and found there was a 300 calorie difference in TDEE for lightly active and sedentary. I did the same on IIFYM website, which gave me about 1900 without asking if I was sedentary or lightly active because it takes into account every minute of your day. The Scooby calculator told me 1900 for lightly active.

I cook, clean, walk around, do laundry, shower, etc. for 2 or so hours minimum per day. As summer approaches I will also be doing more outside like swimming and biking.

So, lightly active or sedentary? Opinions are appreciated :)

Replies

• babydiego87
    babydiego87 Posts: 905 Member
    lightly active
  • squatsandlipgloss
    squatsandlipgloss Posts: 595 Member
    If you sit throughout most of the day, studying, doing other things, hobbies, then I would say you are sedentary. In summer you will probably be lightly acvtive or even more, from the sound of it.

Think about other things you do during the day. I, for example, am also a student, but my hobbies include listening to music, reading, social media... So I am very sedentary. I do workout 6 days a week, 45-60 minutes but that doesn't count for these calculators.
  • Joehenny
    Joehenny Posts: 1,222 Member
    Working out 5 days a week makes you lightly active also depends on your metabolism, Try eating at lightly active for a week, if you gain a pound go to sedentary
  • jdad1
    jdad1 Posts: 1,899 Member
    lightly active. For sure.
  • gil_u
    gil_u Posts: 165 Member
    sedentary.
  • Vailara