Dinner ideas at work- please help!

Options
Hi everyone!
I joined MFP this past week and am finding it soooo helpful! I am a private music instructor and teach 30 minute lessons several days a week. Since I work for myself, I make my own hours and made the huge mistake of not scheduling myself any breaks (I have learned my lesson and will schedule a dinner break next term!). I'll start teaching between 1 and 3 and go until 8:30 most days. The drive home is about 40 min. I'm starving when I get home and make HORRIBLE food choices. I try to bring snacks and eat inbetween students (I get just a few minutes) but nothing really holds me over. Should I just eat a huge meal before teaching? I do drink water while I'm teaching and was toying with the idea of drinking a protein shake....not sure if they will fill me up. Any thoughts? Thank you so much in advance!

Replies

• hungreeteacher17
    hungreeteacher17 Posts: 135 Member
    Options
    I don't think the big meal first idea will work - probably it will just make you sleepy:yawn: What about a healful meal first, then put together a crock pot supper so dinner will be ready when you get home. Protein shakes have not worked for filling me up, but I know others have had success with them. I need to eat something to feel full. I like Luna protein bars, clif mojo (peanut butter pretzel - yum) and sargento light string cheese. Good luck!
  • sarahlea
    sarahlea Posts: 1
    Options
    Hello There,

I just made myself a tuna salad (tuna in a can of water) with celery and a boiled potato. It was very filling and a strawberry light and fit yogurt for desert. If you have trouble getting full, buy lots of celery sticks (already washed and in water-- ready to eat) and eat potato as a way to feel full.

also buy carrots and munch on those when you feel you are losing control. and also, down a whole bottle of water when you feel you are starved.