Any nurses out there?

Options
I'm an ER nurse at a level 1 trauma center and I work nights- 12 hour shifts. I usually work 3-4 shifts in a row and usually any daily activities are on hold for me during that time seeing as it's difficult to go balls to the wall for 12 hours and come home and want to do ANYTHING other than sleep, shower, and haul a** back to work. I always get really pumped and motivated when I'm in between "work clusters" but have a really hard time sticking to anything when I'm working, mainly because I barely have time to drink water or pee during my busy shifts-much less make healthy food choices. I don't take a lunch break, it's usually funneling something into my mouth as I'm charting and darting from room to room. It seems IMPOSSIBLE to fit in a workout during that time. Can anyone relate? Ways to incorporate a healthy lifestyle with not so healthy work environments/schedule?

Replies

• Toddysmama
    Toddysmama Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    I just got done with my prerequisites and am applying to local programs.
  • djtessatessa
    djtessatessa Posts: 54 Member
    Options
    Try to give yourself healthy snacks at work.

Considering nursing is a very physically demanding job, i dont think you should try to push yourself to work out extra while you are working. Just eat right and work out when you aren't on shift.
  • krithsai
    krithsai Posts: 668 Member
    Options
    I am not a nurse but I dropped by to say that YOU ARE AMAZING :)
  • wadair
    wadair Posts: 31
    Options
    I can so relate! I work ER, OB, ICU ... sometimes, all three in a twelve hour shift. I make myself take a lunch ... no matter how much charting I have to do. And I pack healthy goodies in my bag. And I do a lot of deep breathing and inner cursing. : )
  • jewelswye
    jewelswye Posts: 49 Member
    Options