Perplexed and frustrated

Options
OK, first let me tell you that I am a weight loss veteran. I have tried every "diet" in the book in the past 10 years: WW, Atkins, South Beach, Jenny Craig, even a doctor supervised one WITH drugs. I always lose 10-20 pounds and then give up. The weight just stops coming off or I get too "busy." I always gain back the weight plus a few extra just for kicks.

This is my third attempt at MFP. I am very overweight, so the pounds should just pour off the first few weeks, right? I have lost 1 pound. In three weeks. I have exercised harder, longer, and more often then since I was in high school. I have not had soda in three weeks. Only water. My sodium is always below. I am almost always under my calorie goal. I eat 3-4 servings of fruit a day, so maybe the sugar is the prob? I drink 96 oz of water everyday. I have had no dairy or any kind of bread/pasta/rice in three weeks. I am only eating proteins, veggies, and fruits. (I have a friend who has lost over 100 pounds eating this way and she swears she'll never go back.)

The thing is, I feel good. My cravings are totally gone. For the first time, I am not constantly hungry. So I like eating this way, but it's obviously not working. If I had been doing this for months, I know it would be the normal plateau, but I just started and I'm 130 pounds overweight. What gives?

I did have one cheat meal each week. I guess I should give those up? But I am eating sooo much better than I did before, I would think that even with three cheat meals I would see some progress. (I used to eat out a lot...sometimes 3 times a day!)

I know you guys are gonna say eat your exercise calories and make your diary public, right? Both of those options are scary.

Replies

• AllergicToExercise
    AllergicToExercise Posts: 436 Member
    Options