Does anyone work in an office that sabotages them?

Options
Im pretty new to this office and it seems like every other day people are bringing in terrible food for us. Granted its delicious its sooooo hard to keep a good diet with this happening plus i dont wanna seem like an *kitten* to my new office u know?

Replies

• bcrofts001
    bcrofts001 Posts: 18 Member
    Options
    I'm a mechainc, and the guy who works beside me always has boxes of candy and cookies on his bench for every on to eat, he even brings in "goodies" and offers them up at lunch even though he's know I'm trying to loose weight. We always have customers bringing in coffee and doughnuts. I'm like you too, I don't want to be rude, but it's getting easier to say no, and ther're starting to come around.
  • seena511
    seena511 Posts: 685 Member
    Options
    oh man, i had this issue this week. a bunch of people came back from vacation and brought chocolate covered almonds, pecan bark, honey toasted pecans, pralines, and taffy...then since one of our other coworkers is leavings soon for maternity leave there was cake AND cupcakes. it sucks, but just turn it down. if they ask you why, just be up front! if you can't/don't want to turn it down, eliminate something else from your diet later in the day so that you still meet your goal.
  • sue2328
    sue2328 Posts: 22 Member
    Options
    totally understand - my office always has cakes/biscuits out for everyone to share and to make it even more difficult they are alway at the end of my row of desks so i have to pass them to go to the toilet/printer/speak to a colleague/ get a coffee (where there are always more cakes etc in the kitchen) At Christmas we were getting through a large tin of chocolates every day during December ~- there's only around 20 of us in the office.

I have finally found the will power to say no , and as the weight comes off and i feel better in myself it gets easier and easier to walk straight on by.