Gym Motivation

Options
Hey yall :)

I've been going back and forth on this decision. I want to join this gym that is downtown and is designed specifically for women. I went there about 2 years ago and I loved the atmosphere, but the issue was that I just could NOT motivate myself to go. It was always 'too far' or 'takes too long to get there' (I don't drive so I take the bus everywhere). So basically, I was giving about $50 to this gym as charity. That pretty much shows you how severely I lack in motivating myself; losing $50 a month couldn't get me off my butt (and I'm a poor student)!

Now, I'm working full-time, so I would probably be going at 6-7AM before work. But the issue is: can I get myself to wake up that early an actually go?? I have even less money now than before, so I really can't afford to waste the $50, but at the same time, I've had the pattern that I tell myself I'm going to do these things and I spend the money and then when it comes time to do them... bust. I have the diet thing down, that's easy, but getting myself to wake up earlier than I absolutely have to (work) and do something I really don't find all that fun is something I've never been able to master.

Has anyone found a way to beat the crippling laziness??

Replies

• leahartmann
    leahartmann Posts: 415
    Options
    I´m sorry, there is no easy way. It´s just to get up and go!

It´s about getting to bed early and plan your day accordingly. It´s hard to get up, I´m sure, but you will feel so good afterwards. Really good. And how far is too far? I walk to the gym, it takes me about 20 minutes.

If you don´t want to waste money if you don´t go (but ofcourse you do! You have already proven to be strong by being here.) maybe you can pay for one month at a time? Is that possible?