Food on the go

Options
I am a student so go to lectures two days a week and work placement three days a week, the placement days are fine I can make low-cal meals, and can heat food up as there is a microwave and kettle, but for days when I'm going into uni and the library I'd like some food ideas other than salads that I can take with me, there are no kitchen facilities.

All ideas welcome! :)

Replies

• mixedlollies
    mixedlollies Posts: 58 Member
    Options
    Soup in a thermos?
  • JessicaJoanJarvis
    JessicaJoanJarvis Posts: 80 Member
    Options
    Soup in a thermos?

I leave quite early so by the time it gets to lunch it would be cold even though it would be in a thermos :(
  • JessicaJoanJarvis
    Options
    I suppose I could try some cold soup recipes... if anyone has ideas! :)
  • Dawn4511
    Dawn4511 Posts: 22 Member
    Options
    Hmm ood question I can only think of two things lunch meat wrap (ice pack in lunch bag), and a protein bar.
  • mixedlollies
    mixedlollies Posts: 58 Member
    Options
    You could make up brown rice and mixed veggies? That would be nice cold.
  • DanrobinD
    DanrobinD Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    peanut butter and jelly on wheat thin bread
    special K 90 cracker chips
  • sPaRkLiNgLYFE
    Options
    sandwich?
  • Christina8402
    Christina8402 Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    pb&j is always a good option. use a low cal wheat bread and sugar free jam and you'll cut quite a few calories out. fruit and veggies travel well and are good room temp. I often will eat my left overs from dinner the night before room temp - it beats waiting in line for the microwave. :)
  • HelenDootson
    HelenDootson Posts: 443 Member
    Options
    The night before I cook rice or pasta, put it in a box with loads of frozen veg - The heat from the rice/pasta cook the veg just enough and then eat cold as required.