Your homemade nutritious evening snack ideas please! Help!

Options
I am new to all of this :embarassed: and it is 8pm, 2- 3 hours before bed, and on this particular day I am hungry and I want to snack. I just saw the recent post for "TOPIC: 50 BEST Low Calorie SNACKS 115-125 Calories" but I cannot do that because I cannot have any of that stuff in the house. I will eat it all the snackies in one sitting so I do not buy it at all. I cannot eat 2 tablespoons of peanut butter at this stage, I have no willpower! I will get a spoon and eat the jar. I cannot eat just one cup of popcorn yet.

So I am reading the history of posts to get other ideas that I can list and shop for this week. I would ideally like to stock my freezer with really yummy low fat, low sugar goodies I can make in 15-20 minutes that will be very satisfying and I came up with a few so far ( I am lucky that I love vegetables!):

Sweet:
1.) Frozen butternut squash - in 15 minutes I can thaw a package on the stove, add a little low fat milk or soy milk, ginger nutmeg, cinnamon, whisk it around and have a huge bowl of soup for under 200 calories, low sugar very low fat and lots of nutrition!

Savory:
2.) Frozen breaded okra - in 15 minutes in the toaster oven I have about a cup of yumminess for about 100 calories, no fat, no sugar and again, a lot of crispy, tasty, nutrition!

3.) Hummus or no fat dips with fresh cut raw vegetables.

Can you give me your ideas? I have every known supermarket to human kind within a mile from me (Northern Virginia), (Trader Joes, Whole Foods, Safeway, Shoppers, Giant, and wonderful Asian, South American, Greek, Peruvian, etc., local owned stores, etc)., love all foods, love ethnic foods....so if you can give me your personal favorites similar to above and where you can get them, I would appreciate it! I am looking for anything and everything, preferably frozen, that I have to make (and therefore, less apt to sit and munch).

Thank you!

Heather

Replies

• DrBorkBork