Newtons

Options
I am wondering if anyone here has used Newton running shoes and whether or not they liked them!

A bit of backstory - I ran high school & college track, & a marathon about two years back. While I'd always have little stress fractures and some soreness, I never suffered any serious running problems. After taking a year or two off from running, I feel like my form sucks and can feel myself overpronating and hitting my heels. Even though I'm running very short distances, the result has been very sore achilles.

So upon recommendation, I bought a pair of Newtons. Curious to see anyone has had any experiences, & specifically whether they were comfortable to run in/helped correct form/took pressure off the achilles.

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• jcdoerr
    jcdoerr Posts: 172 Member
    Options
    I got my first pair of Newtons just over a year ago when I started training for my first half-marathon, and I still love them! It takes a little extra time to get used to them in the beginning though. It definitely helps to slow down your pace a little bit and focus on getting your foot strike in the right position. The Newton website used to have some good videos about modifying your stride length and foot position; don't know if they're still up since it's been a while since I viewed them. I've never had achilles issues, so I don't know if these shoes will help you with that, but modifying your stride like the videos demonstrate may help a little.

The only con to my Newtons - the lugs inside the sole of the shoe didn't seem to last as long as they should have. The shoes are still comfortable to run in but now there's a slightly annoying click with every step...of course maybe that just means it's time for a new pair! :happy: After a year with my Newtons, I don't think I'll ever go back to a standard running shoe.
  • jess7386
    jess7386 Posts: 477 Member
    Options
    Thanks JC!! They're expensive but worth it if they get you good results!