What do I have to do to get STRONG enough to do....

Options
* A REAL PUSHUP? And a REAL complete Chin UP? I am serious here. I am new to strength training, heck many of the terms to ID alot of the exercises I don't even understand - BUT I plan to GET IT .
* I tried to do the P90X Pre-TEST - YIKES!!! :( I AM a strong-minded woman, BUT WOW, what a currently WEAK SISTER !!. :angry:
* So - where does one actually begin, really. I can lift 10 lbs weightsl (one in each hand) over my head - like a bench press (?).
* And THIS is progress, because 8 weeks ago I could only lift 5 lb weights! :blushing:

Replies

• sweetn3ss
    sweetn3ss Posts: 341 Member
    Options
    You can use a resistance band to mimic an actual pull up. That is what I will be doing when I decide to do P90X

I started doing karate Dec. of 2008 and I had to do girlie push ups (on my knees) almost 2 years later I can do an actual push up,

Great job on your progress thus far
  • Uhlissuh
    Uhlissuh Posts: 23 Member
    Options
    Don't worry, it WILL only get easier. I promise! When I first started working out, I couldn't stay in push-up position for very long because it killed my arms, my back and my shoulders. But once I was continually working out for about 2 months, I could stay in push-up position and actually do a real push-up numerous times without collapsing. You've got the potential and the heart to get stronger - you said you are strong minded which means you CAN do it!

It literally just takes practice. Once your body gets stronger, you'll be able to do them more and more and more! I can vouch for that! Hope this helps! :)
  • kwaters7
    kwaters7 Posts: 129
    Options
    Try chair assisted chin-ups, you will be working the same muscles with lessened intensity... it's still a close replication - similar to pressups on the knees before graduating to the real thing. Here's an example - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AlNDaeZI3A0

Hope this helps..
  • wan2b21
    wan2b21 Posts: 147 Member