Are there emotions in body FAT????

Options
Hi all
A good friend of mine, was told by a dietician who works for a well respected and well know weight loss advisory company, that in our body fat there are stored hormones. So that it is to be expected that when we are in the process of loosing weight and releasing stored fat from our bodies that we will experience hormonal changes as a result of this. Such as vivid dreams and very high and low emotional periods.

Has anyone else been heard this or is my friend being fed a load of rubbish?

Emma x

Replies

• cebreisch
    cebreisch Posts: 1,340 Member
    Options
    Yes, there are hormones there (like cortisol), but I don't think it should cause wierd dreams or mood swings. However, admittedly, I am no doctor or nutritionist. I've been on this path for 2 years, and have been meeting with a variety of dieticians and bariatricians, behaviour coaches, etc. and this has never come up. So call me suspicious.

I will tell you that the belly fat wants to fester and grow. I wondered if that was true or not until I just had surgery to remove the loose skin/fat from my belly from having lost enough weight to warrant it. Now, after the surgery, it doesn't seem like I'm having nearly the cravings that I was having prior to surgery or am hungry nearly as often.
  • thecakelocker
    thecakelocker Posts: 407 Member
    Options
    I don't remember having any mood swings or weird dreams when I was losing weight! I know my Dr told me that losing weight made me extra fertile leading to instapregnancy. I tried looking this up because I was curious but my Google skills are failing me since any combination of fat/weight + hormones in the search bar yields a towering mountain of weight loss scams as results and no actual information.
  • Erin0164
    Erin0164 Posts: 64 Member
    Options
    I have heard that too! Apparently fat also stores medication - like antihistamines. As you burn the fat the chemicals are released.
  • emmamwale