Tendonitis and exercise

Options
I frequently get tendonitis in my elbows. Had it for over a year in my right one which seems mostly ok at the moment but my left has started to give me a lot of pain when gripping things (even pouring the kettle is tricky if it's more than 1/3 full, but it all depends on the angle I have to hold things at).

I'm pretty new to exercising and I'm not doing anything too strenuous, 2.5kg - 4kg dumbbells for chest fly and bicep curls for example. I can't see a pattern between arm exercises and good or bad days for my elbow, it's all a bit random but I guess I'm just looking for reassurance I'm not making things worse.

Also, are there any exercises that might actually help it?

Cheers folks :smile:

Replies

• scottyg70
    scottyg70 Posts: 388 Member
    Options
    You know, I'm experiencing something similar with my left wrist. Not sure if it's tendonitis or not (and neither is my doctor). It started when I was doing burpees and kettlebell presses a few weeks ago. I thought I had just overworked it, but after a couple of weeks I wasn't so sure. Like you, certain exercises and angles give me some serious discomfort, while others are fine. I can do pushups, even explosive pushups, but a plate raise for anything over 10 pounds is trouble. I usually just wrap it (or in your case maybe put a brace on) and try to be mindful of it. It will basically have to be trial and error as to what exercises you can do. For that reason, try to keep it fairly light until you know your limitations. Of course, afterwards ice it down and take some anti-inflammatory's.
  • yamsteroo
    yamsteroo Posts: 480 Member
    Options
    Thanks, Scotty.

I keep it strapped during work and exercise and I have a donor bag of frozen peas kept just for my elbows lol