Graduate Certificates- I would love your opinion

Options
AIZZO4
AIZZO4 Posts: 404 Member
I am thinking about returning to school. I am not ready for a full Masters Degree program and I notice a lot of schools have Graduate Certificate programs. So I would like to get your opinions and answers on a few questions:

1. Do you have a Graduate Certificate? Did you like the program?

2. Do you think a Graduate Certificate is worth the time? Do you think it’s beneficial to job growth?

3. Do you think it’s better to just do a Masters Program?

4. Any other thoughts, comments, would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance for your help. Also, my degree is in HR and I am looking into Non-Profit leadership or HR Management.

Replies

• agirlscamaro
    agirlscamaro Posts: 175 Member
    Options
    I would say look into the cost. Does the cost of the program give you a return in earnings or prestige in your job? I say look at cost because i'm one class away from a Master of Arts in Teaching & Learning but won't finish. I have to quit my job and the job market for teachers sucks around here. I'm not willing to move. When I started the degree program it didn't suck but quickly tanked.
  • AIZZO4
    Options
    Well I think at my current job it would be a plus. But I am looking for people who may have thought the same thing and had different outcomes.
  • lfergurson1
    lfergurson1 Posts: 137 Member
    Options
    Honestly I think its a great idea, I have a BA but I tell people that I did all my education is for personal enrichment. If you are the type of person who wants it to say they did it then you should I want my masters so bad to say I did it. Will it benefit me job wise I doubt it but I want it. If you look at it like its enriching your life then if you get a better job or promotion. BAM its a great deal on top of you are a more disciplined educated person.
  • AIZZO4
    Options