Good Salad??? HELP!!!

Options
Hi! I'm new to this MyFitnessPal app... I am just starting my new lifestyle! Trying to make healthy food choices and all...

I am so discouraged on salad... Growing up, we didn't have veggies in our house! Definitely not salad! So, I am trying to make myself eat these healthy things! However, the salad I have bought is not very good tasting! I go to a restaurant and make salad off the salad bar and it is always so good! But the salad I buy in the stores never tastes that way!

Any suggestions???

Thanks!!!

Replies

• Josalinn
    Josalinn Posts: 1,066 Member
    Options
    So this is my favorite summer salad:

Spinach and baby greens, about 2 cups, enough to fill a large plate nicely but not be a mountain. This can be rough because there are practically no calories in it =)

4 medium strawberries washed and sliced

2 rings of FRESH pineapple, the canned stuff is icky

2 tbs. of walnuts

Drizzle with 2 tbs of aged balsamic vinegar. EVOO if you must.
  • ninav1980
    ninav1980 Posts: 514 Member
    Options
    the restaurants probably have all the fattening stuff, thats wy its so good!, lol
    IMO , there is no point in eating a salad if you are gonna drain it in fattening stuff, might as well have what you really want instead

Here is one of my fave salads
    Grill bonless skinless chicken tenders (cut up) add black beans, corn, lime for taste and fat free honey mustard dressing. Its pretty good and it beats eating a cheeseburger and fries!
  • Pearsquared
    Pearsquared Posts: 1,656 Member
    Options
    What did you like about the salad in the restaurant? Were there any specific vegetables, toppings, or dressing that made you love it? Not all salads are created equal. The only salads I like are the ones I make myself from scratch - the prepackaged ones are often bland to me (even with dressing, but nothing beats my homemade vinaigrette).
  • neandermagnon
    neandermagnon Posts: 7,436 Member
    Options