diet soda...good or evil???

Options

Replies

• jelk8881
    jelk8881 Posts: 49 Member
    Options
    I'm no expert on the topic, but I do know that they definitely aren't the best for you. You should avoid drinking them on a regular basis and opt for water or sparkling mineral water instead (Sparkling Ice is my new favorite drink!). But sometimes I just really, really want a soda and I will occasionally grab a coke zero. I think moderation is the key with diet sodas.

I love sparkling Ice. Its the best flavored water out there. I used to drink soda like crazy until I found this drink. I might have a can of diet dr. pepper. at night once in awhile. But I drink Sparkling Ice all day. :drinker:
  • TracyJo93
    TracyJo93 Posts: 197 Member
    Options
    Evil. It's bad for you even if it doesn't have calories.
  • extraordinary_machine
    extraordinary_machine Posts: 3,028 Member
    Options
    It's neither good nor evil...it just is. It's a carbonated drink. It lacks the ability to be good or evil. Drink it...or don't. Whatever floats your boat.
  • bacitracin
    bacitracin Posts: 921 Member
    Options
    I'm a scientist and I wrote a blog post about it. http://crunchyscientist.wordpress.com/2013/04/25/obesity-carbohydrates-diet-drinks-and-correlation-studies/

But basically: My husband has in the past brought up the idea of diet drinks causing weight gain and although I explained this fallacy to him at the time, he recently brought it up again. He said he “heard that diet drinks cause weight gain because people who drink diet drinks gained more weight over years than those who don’t”. I decided to try to find where he heard this and came up with nada. The interwebs seem to have started and circulated this rumor because there isn’t a Pubmed article I could find with this claim. Some counter arguments were raised on other websites saying that the study called 2lbs “weight gain” and it was a pure correlation study.