Runners-at what point....

2»

Replies

• longtimeterp
    longtimeterp Posts: 623 Member
    for me it was when i went to my first running shoe store (like that's all they sell-running stuff) to get fitted for the perfect pair of running shoes...

...when i really realized i could say to people i'm a runner without questiononing myself, was after i got injured and was sad i had to take some time off.
  • TheRunningGuppy
    TheRunningGuppy Posts: 651 Member
    I started thinking of myself as a runner when I realized I could run a mile and not feel like I was dying when I got done. I'm still a newbie to running (only a couple months at it), but I most definitely am a runner. I've even got half marathon training laid out to start in November. I've got my first charity 5K in a week and a half from now. And I am one who will run in any weather. Outside, in my silly looking gortex hat and poncho. Yeah, they probably slow me down, but being somewhat dry after a run in the rain is preferable.
  • sullus
    sullus Posts: 2,839 Member
    The fact that you get up and run when you could sit at home. The fact that you want to run. The fact that even when it is hard, it is fun. All of that makes you a runner.

#2 and 3 are why I dont consider myself a runner.

I dont want to run.
    It's NEVER fun.
  • emiliewright
    emiliewright Posts: 148 Member
    I run between 6-15 miles per week, you are darn right I am a runner. I own every single mile, slow or fast, it's MINE!
  • maribeth721
    maribeth721 Posts: 10
    I felt the same way you did. I run between 25 and 30 miles a week but I still felt I had no business calling myself a "runner." I finished my first half marathon a few weeks ago, I now FINALLY feel like a runner.