Should I worry about this pain????

Options
Ok. I started level 2 of 30 DS. It has a lot and I mean A LOT of shoulder and arm work that I'm not quite used to. During the night last night, I was awakened with intense shoulder pain. I ended up getting up at 4 am and icing it. That made it feel better. My question is: should I worry about this or could this be simply the working out and building up of muscles? I do plan to take today off and let my muscles rest. I'm also wondering if I should go back to level 1. I don't really want to bc I'll feel like I'm giving up...

Replies

• WhaddoWino
    WhaddoWino Posts: 146 Member
    Options
    Is it a sharp pain or more of a sore one? Anything sharp... stop and see a doc. If it's sore, rest it, ice it, and take ibuprofen over 24 hours to reduce swelling. I am not a medical professional but this is advice that was given to me and it has worked for me. I work out sometimes to the point that I have DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness) kick in while I am sleeping. It even wakes me up sometimes. When this happens, I know to lay off it the following day.
  • paulywoo
    paulywoo Posts: 169 Member
    Options
    Hi, given that you have arthritis you have to take exercise induced pain seriously. As you know ( being one of my friends :smile: ) I have rheumatoid arthritis and I found 30DS too strenuous. It's now sitting unused in the back of the cupboard. I have to listen to my body and avoid high impact exercises or certain repetitive actions to avoid inducing a flare. I've tried "working through" pain and unfortunately ended up feeling very ill and it took me weeks to build back up. I would advise you to get proper medical advice on what you should be doing.
    Paula x
  • briabner
    briabner Posts: 427 Member
    Options
    I would take a break. Especially if its sharp pain not like a dull ache.
  • groovyreba
    groovyreba Posts: 72 Member
    Options