Thyroid Disease

Options
2»

Replies

• Mmmmona
    Mmmmona Posts: 328 Member
    Options
    I was diagnosed a year ago. They wanted to put me on some pills but I don't take medicine unless my life depends on it. Plus, the doc said that it was a lifetime commitment. I don't want to be on any pill for the rest of my life.

I've been losing weight continuously for about three months (since I put my mind to it). All I do is eat under 1200 calories a day and get burn about 1000 calories in exercise. Some days I don't burn anything at all. I lose an average of about 3.6 lbs a week.

It's all about willpower and mind over matter.
  • sassykeez
    sassykeez Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    I have Hashimoto's Thyroiditis & PCOS (originally diagnosed in 2000). I switched endocrinologists b/c the first one I went to refused to increase my levoxyl b/c I was "within normal range". The second endo gladly increased it & over time, I came to know my body's symptoms for increasing or decreasing. My doctor doesn't even question me anymore, he just adjusts the dose when I ask him b/c the lab results have proved over the years what I had been saying every time. My TSH has to be below 1.0, preferably closer to .75, otherwise I will have the symptoms you described. That's extreme though. Not many people can be at this low range. And the doctors get nervous b/c the hypothyroidism could very quickly switch to hyperthyroidism with Grave's Disease, which is much worse. I've also found that the nurse practitioners are awesome. They listen very intensely & really think things through. I'm a big fan of nurse practitioners.