need tips for lowering body fat %

Options
I've been exercising and eating healthy (90% of the time) for over 5 years now. I'm not unhappy with my weight (142lbs/5'6), but I would love to lower my body fat percentage so that I "lean out" and my muscles show through that little layer covering them up.

For the most part, my weekends are my downfall (eating on the run, sporadic meals) and I've been working on that. I change up my workout routine regularly and I try and eat as many clean foods as I can. I have increased my fat intake as I was lacking in that, and now I'm noticing that my sugar as well as my fat are always well over. I have MFP settings to 45% carbs / 35% protein / 25% fat.

Does anyone have suggestions as to what I could be doing different? I exercise 5-6 times a week and eat healthy most of the time with the exception of treats here and there.

Replies

• sngnyrslp
    sngnyrslp Posts: 315 Member
    Options
    commenting because i'd also like to know!
  • aippolito1
    aippolito1 Posts: 4,894 Member
    Options
    Are you lifting weights or doing any kind of resistance or strength training? Muscle burns fat so if you're not, you need to work on building muscle as well as still maintaining your cardio.
  • rose1617
    rose1617 Posts: 469 Member
    Options
    My suggestion would be to lift weights (looks like arielle beat me to that one lol).
    If you work on building your strength, you'll burn that fat more easily.
    In 3 months I've lost 3% body fat with a combo of olympic lifting, cardio, endurance exercises, gymnastics and others.
    The lifting always seems to do the most damage, though (to fat).
  • LastFighter
    LastFighter Posts: 175 Member
    Options