What to do?

Options
How many days a week should i be exercising and what types of exercises should i do? I'm trying to lose around 25-30 pounds by the time school starts up in the fall. im at 169-171 right now. Any tips?

Replies

• gatorginger
    gatorginger Posts: 947 Member
    Options
    I work out 3 times a week at least. You just need to do what works for you. I like working out every other day with Thursdays and Fridays off. However on THursdays and Fridays I might do a mini work out. Just do what works best for you. SOme people work out 6 days a week.
  • TeaBea
    TeaBea Posts: 14,517 Member
    Options
    How many days a week should i be exercising and what types of exercises should i do? I'm trying to lose around 25-30 pounds by the time school starts up in the fall. im at 169-171 right now. Any tips?

I'm not an expert .... but you will want to do at least 2 types.....

Cardio to burn calories, increase stamina, and work your heart.

Strength training to hang onto to existing muscle which is important for metabolism (muscles at rest burn a few calories). Strength training is extremely important to the "shape" of your body .... which will reveal itself after the fat is mostly gone. When you work your muscles to "fatigue" during srength training .... your muscles will keep burning calories long after the workout it done.

I like to add (I'm older) ...... yoga for flexibility & balance. Younger people can get away with less of this.
  • BeachIron
    BeachIron Posts: 6,490 Member
    Options

Strength training to hang onto to existing muscle which is important for metabolism (muscles at rest burn a few calories). Strength training is extremely important to the "shape" of your body .... which will reveal itself after the fat is mostly gone. When you work your muscles to "fatigue" during srength training .... your muscles will keep burning calories long after the workout it done.