Ready to Feel Better

Options
Hello all!

Just wanted to stop by and introduce myself. I am new to MFP but not new to fitness, weight loss (and unfortunately weight gain), exercise etc. I am one of those people that used to go to the gym every day and ate right (though never really reached my goals) and felt great and then just stopped and became heavier, sickly, and miserable.

I am almost 27 years old, yet I feel so much older. I am at my heaviest weight (212lb) and I am only 5'3". I am ready to take back my life and feel better and look better. I got a gym membership about a week ago and have gone every day. I've been keeping track of calories and nutrients and all that fun stuff. So far so good I think.

My plan is to strength train different body groups (abs/calves, legs, back/bicep, chest/tricep, shoulders/forearms) each day for 5 days a week and do cardio 5 days as well. Right now I am so out of shape this is about all I can handle. I plan on increasing intensity as soon as I am physically able.

Wish me luck. I still have lots to explore as far as proper diet for my particular situation. Open to encouragement and suggestions :smile:

Replies

• jenns717
    jenns717 Posts: 32 Member
    Options
    You sound like you have the right plan. I have learned that if I just take small goals each day I am more successful. Sometimes looking at the big goal can cause us to be depressed. With thoughts, of how am I ever going to get there. Just give yourself small goals: log all food and exercise today. You have it in you! Have a great day! Feel free to add me as a friend :)
  • jinna86
    jinna86 Posts: 93
    Options
    I'll add you too! I'm almost 27 as well (my birthday is in a couple of weeks) and I'm also 5'3"

Plus, I think strength training is awesome :smile:
  • tyb03
    tyb03 Posts: 52 Member
    Options