Makin' Yogurt

Options
timpicks
timpicks Posts: 151 Member
One of my MFP friends noticed that I eat homemade yogurt a lot and asked me for the recipe. I figure that perhaps others might be interested too so here goes. I've been making yogurt for several years and really like it. It's easy, tastes great, is inexpensive, and it doesn't get any fresher.

I use a Salton yogurt maker with 6 oz. glass cups and plastic caps that also accommodates 40 oz. pyrex containers. I don't think they sell it anymore, but there are other similar products on the market. It is very low tech--just keeps the yogurt at a constant temperature so that the cultures grow. You don't absolutely need one of these but it makes it easier and you'll get more consistent results. You will also need a simple food thermometer, and as a general rule, cleanliness is important to keep from contaminating the cultures. Here are the steps:

1. Get supplies. I use skim milk and my favorite starter culture is made by Seven Star Farms. There is no magic formula here--experiment until you find something that you like. Some people like to add powdered milk, but it's not necessary. Organic is good, but again, not necessary. The more fat in the milk, the richer the yogurt but skim is fine for me.

2. Heat 1 quart of milk to between 170 and 180 degrees fahrenheit (77 and 82 C).

3. Let it cool to between 100 and 110 degrees fahrenheit (38 and 43 C) - about 30-35 minutes usually. You can cool it in the fridge if you are in a hurry but don't overcool it.

4. Add in 6 oz of plain yogurt and stir gently until it is mixed reasonably well. I reuse the last cup of yogurt from the previous batch so that's why I use 6 oz.--you can get away with just 4 oz. If you are using store bought, try to get the freshest available with a wide variety of active cultures. And of course you can use Greek yogurts but I've never liked them--too bland tasting. I've never used powdered starter cultures but some do. Not sure why.