Carbs to restrict or not?

Options
Y'all may have covered this a zillion time so feel free to link me into another thread.

But I am considering reducing or restricting my carbs. I have NEVER done this before. I have switched my carbs from white to wheat. That helped. But you know I love me some carbs.

Any suggestions, tricks, tips or advice?

:bigsmile:

Replies

• nb0203
    nb0203 Posts: 2
    Options
    I used to be a carb junkie and had what felt like an uncontrollable sweet tooth. I have noticed for myself, that when I restrict carbs through out the day I don't have the late night sweet cravings I used to have. I don't restrict as much as like the Adkins or South Beach diet, but I'm nowhere close to eating what I was.

For dinner yesterday I had not time to cook, so I had a lean cuisine pizza. Well most nights I have a lean meat and some veggies especially green ones (lots and lots). Last night I did get a sweet craving for the first time in days! My guess it was the carb count in the crust but I could be wrong. I partially gave in but motivation got the better of me and I threw away the sweet treat I had tried.

Most of my carbs through out the day come from my afternoon apple or banana. Basically any fruit I eat is where the most carbs come from. I only eat eggs for breakfast and really haven't touched bread or pasta in days (other than last night's dinner).

So for me who was once a sweet/carb junkie cutting back on them have helped. But everyone is different and our bodies handle things differently. I would try it in moderation and see if it works for you!

Good luck!
  • frabjak
    frabjak Posts: 16
    Options
    Carbs are not the devil. The key is to keep them healthy carbs. As in, cutting out white product like sugar and white flour. Whole grains, fruit, natural carbs in vegetables are not bad. As far as how many to consume, well that depends on your goals and fitness levels.