Confusion about cals

Options
So Im very new to this as in restarting after a while and not taking it seriously before. Im wondering, my calorie goal says 1730 a day, am i supposed to eat that or less than that and am i supposed to eat my exercise cals and im breastfeeding do i need to eat those extra 500 cals as well or stay below it? Im so confused as to how ill lose weight if eating those extra calories when youre supposed to burn more than you consume. my milk supply is well established so im not concerned about starting to lose weight in fact i was so hungry in the early stages ive gained back every lb since giving birth which is only about 9lbs (baby #4 was 8lb 6 oz ) i also have a DVT in my leg and have horrible swelling from it that will NOT go down with anything!!! not compression socks not walking not elevating it not cutting sodium not drinking more water (which i drink plenty of) so i have that working against me as well :/ it sucks seeing 302lbs on the scale affter 4 kids especially since i started off at 145!!! I saw mysef on skype today when talking with my dad and couldnt believe how big i really am!!!

Replies

• MexicanOsmosis
    MexicanOsmosis Posts: 382 Member
    Options
    MFP sets your calorie goal to be able to lose while eating that many. As for eating back your exercise calories, there seems to be those that are for it and those against it. It's really about what works best for you.
  • fat2strongbeth
    fat2strongbeth Posts: 735 Member
    Options
    Eat your calorie gaol and you exercise calories. I'm not about adding extra for breast feeding. Does MFP ask about that when you were setting up your goals?
  • backlin522
    Options
    Make sure if you continue to breastfeed while dieting that you increase your fluid intake. My daughter tried dieting while breast feeding and she didnt increase her fluids and her milk production decreased.