What was your first attempt at weigtloss?

Options
I remember when I was 12 I took mini thins to lose weight. I don't remember if I lost weight but I do remember my heart racing.

Replies

• sweetn3ss
    sweetn3ss Posts: 341 Member
    Options
    My mom put me on Jenny Craig when I was 13. They said that I lost 7 lbs then after my weigh in they put something back on the scale. I walked back to it stood on it and said "Weigh Me" there response was we just did and we only do 1 weigh in per visit. I ended up weighing myself and I gained 3 lbs,
  • Jamie_V
    Jamie_V Posts: 26
    Options
    When I was 8, I tried a "bread and water" diet--not quite sure how I came up with that. After that didn't work, I moved on to trying not to eat sweets, then trying not to eat at all.....turns out I'm not good at deliberate starvation, LOL. Then came the teen years and the Dexatrim, mini thins, and various other pills, all of which worked to control my appetite, and all of which made me feel completely wigged out (racing heart, racing thoughts, etc). Late teens/early 20's was the grapefruit diet, Mayo Clinic diet, cabbage soup diet.....ugh. Each approach met with some degree of success temporarily, but then I'd go off it because it wasn't sustainable or I felt like crap, and the weight would come back.
  • shipleyak
    shipleyak Posts: 65 Member
    Options
    Technically, this is my first attempt. When I was younger my mom was on some calorie/fat counting drinking 32 oz of water within 30 minutes. So was kinda put on one then. I think I was 16 so I could feed myself if I didn't like what she cooked :bigsmile:
  • aippolito1
    aippolito1 Posts: 4,894 Member
    Options
    My first attempt was when I was about 13... I just did a lot of crunches because I saw it work for my sister. I always gave up. Then i tried atkins shortly after 'cause my parents were on it. I cried when I ordered a chicken sandwich from Jack in the Box, couldn't eat the bread, and was still really hungry.